Share

Opinion

  • Gonzo Aesthetics of Giuliano’s Poetry

    Ultra Cosmic Gonzology

    By: Robert Henriquez - Aug 18th, 2016

    With the third book of poetry by Charles Giuliano, Ultra Cosmic Gonzology, again the essayist is Robert Henriquez. The former CBS News producer has probed deeply into aspects of the avant-garde and places the development of gonzo poetry into a larger historical and literary context. The new book will be launched with a reading at Gloucester Writers Center on August 31.

  • Gonzo Shine

    Roots of the Poetry of Charles Giuliano

    Gonzo
    By: Robert Henriquez - Dec 13th, 2015

    The critical essay "Gonzo Shine" was written by Robert Henriquez on the occasion of the publication of Total Gonzo Poems by Charles Giuliano. He was also essayist for the first book Shards of a Life. Here Henriquez further explores the development and sources for gonzo poetry. These ideas germinated through an ongoing dialogue as the work developed and morphed into a signature style.

  • Tom Krens Has Plans for Northern Berkshires

    Discusses Williamstown to North Adams Cultural Corridor

    Krens
    By: Charles Giuliano - Dec 07th, 2015

    For seven years former Guggenheim Foundation director, Tom Krens, made grueling monthly trips to China. He declines to discuss how he was "beaten down" in negotiations with the Chinese. He has opted to develop two museum level projects closer to home. Krens, a Williams alumnus and former director of its museum, initiated what is now Mass MoCA. He left decades ago but has maintained a residence in Williamstown.

  • Tom Krens Outlines Plans for a Cultural Corridor

    Former Governors Dukakis and Weld Share North Adams Podium

    krens
    By: Charles Giuliano - Dec 05th, 2015

    Using a satellite image Tom Krens commented on a six mile line connecting North Adams and Williamstown. It was a part of an engaging power point presentation to develop a cultural corridor connecting world class resources including a new for profit museum and one in North Adams featuring model railroads and maquettes by renowned architects. Former governors Dukakis and Weld attended the presentation.

  • Boston Theatre Update

    Huntington Theatre Company Sanguine

    theatre
    By: Charles Giuliano - Nov 02nd, 2015

    Regarding Boston Theatre it is broke and time to fix it. This fall as one shoe after another dropped the Boston Theatre Community seemed to collapse like a house of cards. In 2004 through a partnership between Druker Development, Boston Center for the Arts and the Huntington Theatre Company the multi-stage Calderwood Pavilion was created in the South End. Is it possible that Huntington can swing a similar development to save, renovate and expand its antiquated facility? That's just a part of dramatic changes for the city.

  • Mostly Mozart Presents Emerging Talent

    Cape Cod Chamber Music, Met Opera Baritone Plus Bard Pianist

    By: Susan Hall - Aug 18th, 2015

    Mostly Mozart. adding a soupçon of musical interest for its audiences and a splendid opportunity for rising young talent to perform in important venues, offers a concert pre-concert, in which you might even hear Emmanuel Ax. Avery FIsher Hall, configured for the Festival, is an acoustically satisfying, intimate experience.

  • Tom Krens Proposes a New North Adams Museum

    The Global Contemporary Collection and Museum Planned for Route Two

    Krens
    By: Charles giuliano - Aug 12th, 2015

    While director of the Williams College Museum of Art Tom Krens initiated plans for Mass MoCA. When he left for a 20 year career at the Guggenheim Museum in New York that project moved forward under Joe Thompson. Now Krens, a Williams graduate and Williamstown home owner, is proposing to create a for profit museum on leased land fronting the high traffic corridor between MoCA, Williams College and the newly expanded and renovated Clark Art Institute.

  • Roberto Lugo an Emerging Ceramics Artist

    Ferrin Contemporary Opening on Aug.22

    Ceramic mugs
    By: Philip S. Kampe - Aug 06th, 2015

    Roberto Lugo, at 33, has emerged on the local art scene, thanks to Leslie Ferrin and her outreach program for artists in the ceramics, pottery world. His show opens on the Mass MoCA campus at Ferrin Contemporary on August 22.

  • Seeing Is Believing

    À la recherche du temps perdu

    By: Charles Giuliano - Aug 05th, 2015

    How long does it take to look at a work of art and remember it, or not, forever?

  • Christmas Memories

    Chinese Food and a Movie

    Mark
    By: Mark Favermann - Dec 23rd, 2015

    Our Boston correspondent Mark Favermann grew up in the south and attended Washington and Lee. In his community Jews were definitely a minority. So his Christmas experience was quite different from that of friends and classmates.

  • What's New at the Metropolitan Opera

    Sondra Radvanovky Crowned Queen of Opera

    Met
    By: Susan Hall - Feb 08th, 2016

    It seems just yesterday that Placido Domingo marched into General Manager Peter Gelb’s office and told him that he must keep the great soprano Sondra Radvanovsky on the Metropolitan Opera roster. Gelb could not say no. And so we have this season Donizetti’s Queens with Radvanovsky singing Anna Bolena, Maria Stuarda and Elizabeth.

  • Boston's The Arts Fuse

    Website Has Sixty Contributors

    By: Charles Giuliano - Aug 15th, 2016

    As news rooms and journals have shrunk or disappeared there are ever fewer resurces for established arts writers. In Boston William Marx has established the respected and ever expanding site The Arts Fuse. One of the sixty contributors, film critic Gerald Peary, wrote a memo to his colleagues. We have published an excerpt. We urge our readers to link to and discover this diverse and informative arts site.

  • Artwashing: Gentrification or Cultural Enrichment?

    Aiding Derelict Neighborhoods or Abetting Social Inequity

    Artwashing
    By: Mark Favermann - Aug 11th, 2016

    For the anti-gentrification critics, urban deterioration should be left the way it is rather than reverse it through the introduction of art galleries, performance spaces, work/live lofts, and museums. This is an issue wrapped in controversy that underscores progress while perhaps marginalizing impoverished residents and pioneering artists. It is hard to determine if everyone is right or everyone is wrong.

  • Huntington Theatre Company Gets A Reprieve

    Theatre To Stay Put on Avenue of the Arts

    By: Mark Favermann/Desiree Berry - Jun 09th, 2016

    After Boston University decided to sell the building in which the Huntington Theatre Company has had its lovely theatre last Fall, there was a great deal of agita and even grief as to what would become of the Huntington. Would the theatre company have to relocate? Would the large structure be torn down for expensive condos? Could the City of Boston help find a development/real estate partner? Like a Deus Ex Machina, Good News has arrived with a happy ending.

  • At Home With Lindsay Ann Crouse

    Reflecting on a Remarkable Life in Theatre

    By: Charles Giuliano - May 31st, 2016

    Having returned to Annisquam where she grew up during summers Lindsay Ann Crouse is performing annually with Gloucester Stage. We saw her launch the season with a lively and hilarious production of Lettice ad Lovage. As kids my sister Pip was Lindsay's age and I was a bit older than her brother Timothy. On a rainy day we met in her vintage village home and discussed a remarkable life in theatre with numerous stage, TV and film credits including an Oscar nomination and an Emmy.

  • Gagosian Asks Who Reads Poetry?

    Vulgarian One-percenters Trump the Art World

    By: Charles Giuliano - Apr 30th, 2016

    In the contemporary art world bigger is better. Presiding over the complex ever more decadent global art world is mega dealer Larry Gagosian. As king of the heap he makes no apology for catering to the whims and vulgarian taste of one-percenters. The benefit to the general public is that they can enjoy his museum-level gallery exhibitions free of charge. Critics may debate the quality of the work on display but their opinions have long since been marginalized by those who write the checks. De gustibus non est disputandum.

  • James Levine Resigns as Met's Music Director

    Tenure Ended by Chronic Illness

    By: Susan Hall - Apr 16th, 2016

    Speaking to the Maestro about chocolate in February, it was clear that he had not found the answer to uncontrollable hand and arm movements, although his mind was as a sharp as ever. We agreed that Mondel's was the best hand-made chocolate in New York, but he also likes Mrs. See's chocolates in Los Angeles. It would be encouraging to hear that he will continue working with young talent at the Met and at the Juilliard School.

  • The Mount 2016

    Schedule of Events

    By: Mount - Apr 01st, 2016

    The Mount in Lenox announces its schedule of events for the 2016 season.

  • Berkshire's Gonzo Poet Charles Giuliano

    Berkshire Fine Arts, LLC Launches Total Gonzo Poems

    By: BFA - Mar 29th, 2016

    April is National Poetry Month. Berkshire Fine Arts, LLC announces the publication of two books Shards of a Life and Total Gonzo Poems by Berkshire poet and arts critic Charles Giuliano. In July, 1970 he coined the word gonzo while telling an outrageous story. He was the first to publish gonzo in a rock review that summer for the former daily Boston Herald Traveler. With these two books and a third nearing completion Giuliano has morphed gonzo journalism into a vibrant, hip, compelling form of cutting edge poetry.

  • Fishing

    No Luck with NOAA

    By: Melissa de Haan Cummings - Aug 05th, 2015

    The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) regulates fishing. They say there's no cod out there. Tell that to lobstermen with their traps clogged.

  • Thoughts

    Critique of Pure Reason

    By: Charles Giuliano - Aug 05th, 2015

    On the nature of all things.

  • Van Gogh and Nature at Clark Art Institute

    Summer Blockbuster in the Berkshires

    van Gogh
    By: Charles Giuliano - Aug 04th, 2015

    The blockbuster summer exhibition, through September 13, is testing the limits of the recently renovated and expanded Clark Art Institute to handle maximum visitation even mid week. Only a few of the 50 works in the exhibition Van Gogh and Nature will be readily familiar to visitors. Many of the works on view, gathered from major collections, rarely travel to special exhibitions such as this. The curators have provided an intimate view of his daily practice and meticulous study of nature.

  • Hosta la Vista Baby

    Morning Manta

    By: Charles Giuliano - Jun 17th, 2015

    Never met a hosta I didn't like; the vinyl siding of landscape gardening. We have a number of varieties. Each spring some of them split to start new ones. Circles around trees and dramatic accents in flower beds. My favorite is viewed each morning over coffee from our dining room window. Last year critters got to it and ruined my summer meditations.

  • Under the Apple Tree

    Backyard Wedding in East Boston

    By: Charles Giuliano - Jun 17th, 2015

    We hired our neighbor Ritchie, a chef, to prepare food for our backyard East Boston wedding. The inept students I hired never bothered to turn on the oven. They were too busy being guests. So we served the backup lasagna I made that morning. Then I got dissed by my best man and sister. It was quite the occasion.

  • Fireworks

    First Kiss Fourth of July

    Astrid
    By: Charles Giuliano - Jun 17th, 2015

    Circling each other in the art world connected at CAVS event. Came late to my holiday party new house in East Boston. First date and kiss that week. Fireworks then and ever since.

  • Next >>